Electric Chrome Collection

Hello nail peeps

How is everyone’s week going so far? Like me, I’m sure most of you will be looking forward to the long weekend. As the good weather is also set to continue I am particularly looking forward to the break – a christening, a spot of gardening and spring clean are all on the cards (Maybe even an Easter manicure if I have time)

Before you read on I also have an apology to make: my camera battery ran out halfway through swatching! (I’m tempted not to tell you which pictures are which but I’m sure you’ll be able to tell the difference between my digital camera and my camera-phone) Thankfully the colour came out pretty accurately so I hope you’ll forgive me.

Image

As promised last week, I have a full review of the Revlon Electric-Chrome collection (inspired by the new Spiderman 2 film) to share with you today. The three I chose from the collection are Super-powered, Spidey Sense and Electrified Web.

So without further ado;

With all three polishes two-coats provides excellent coverage. I was worried the long-thin brush would make my three-stroke painting technique difficult but clearly the people at Revlon know what they are doing. The polish itself is fairly runny. Be warned if polishing on the couch/in bed/whilst leaning on unpaid bills (not that I’d advocate you do this with any polish) as it’s something worth preparing yourself for when brushing off excess. That said the brush is well designed and hold A LOT of polish well. Couple that with the large bottle opening and miraculous way the formula evens itself out and even the most slap dash polisher will get a smooth, professional result.

Image

For whatever reason Revlon polish bottles take me back to the 90s – I think my older sister had a few of them – and the gold band on the cap make them look almost retro in my mind. However, I am so glad I go these as they have reminded me why Revlon are still going strong and the bottle and brush design and superb formula make a flawless finish easy to achieve. Something not always guaranteed from some of the indie brands. Don’t get me wrong I do love my indies and am all for supporting smaller, upcoming entrepreneurial types but if you want a quick and easy classic manicure sometimes the professional brands are the best.

Super-powered is what I’d consider a classic ‘Spiderman’ blue. This deep blue chrome in this shimmers with a magenta streak with hints of bronze. There’s an almost flakie quality to the shimmery flecks in this one.

Image

To be perfectly honest the colours a lot flatter than advertised. It’s still very beautiful but not as ‘duo’ as I like my chromes; the painted nail doesn’t come out with the full purple shine that you get from turning the bottle.

ImageImage

Revlon suggests two coats and I’d say that’s just right. The first coat comes out very streaky, but don’t fear as the second coat evens and covers nicely. I’m squeamish of visible nail-lines/moons, but as you can see from the picture above there’s full coverage. (The picture below is just one coat)

Image

first coat

Spidey Sense is another traditional Spiderman colour of superhero-style carmine red.

Image

This one has a luxurious golden shimmer running through it (though again the duo-chrome in the bottle doesn’t translate when on the nail) This one also has a cerise shine in direct light. The pictures show two-coats.

Image

One thing that did impress me was the smooth formula made capping (painting right over the free edge) a breeze – no lump, bumps or clumps.

Image

natural light

Image

with flash

Electrified Web was my man’s choice. I knew the red and blue were a given when deciding which to purchase (as they are typical Spiderman staples) but I’ve no idea where this orange comes in. I guess I’ll have to watch the film for that.

Image

I usually steer clear of oranges as it rarely compliments my pale white skin, however with Electrifying Web I was pleasantly surprised. Even in the bottle the duo-chrome is least strong (of the three I bought) but the colour leans from yellow-gold to blood orange. It also has the tiniest hint of hot pink!

Image

Looking through the swatches again I’m reminded why this was a firm favourite; it’s a pure burst of shimmery cheeriness. If you like the bold, look-at-me shades you’ll love it.

Overall

I was a fan of all three. The most original, and my favourite, is Electrified Web. However Super-powered and Spidey Sense are great staples and would make ideal polish for a superhero nailart manicure (…hmm, the possibilities…)

Get it…if you want full-on colour, great coverage and a durable, hard-working polish from an established professional brand. Plus the webbed tops would look fab in any polish hoarders collection.

Steer clear…if you are looking for a strong duo-chrome.

 So what are your thoughts? Do these chromes tickle your fancy? Are you a Spiderman fan? Would that sway you to get these themed polishes?

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on April 16, 2014, in Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

