Healthy Nails Crystal File Review

*Products provided for honest review

Image

So I have a great product to introduce to you all today. The Crystal File by Healthy Nails is a glass file which comes in it’s own hard plastic travel case.

If there’s one thing you can do to help your nails, it’s get a good nail file. So many people blame their nail polish, their base coat, their topcoat, their hand cream, etc. for chipped, flaking and broken nails but in all honesty, it starts with your filing.

Image

Here are my three main rules for keeping your nails chip-free:

  1. Little pickers…MUST STOP. Remember to remove your polish, gel or acrylics correctly. Picking is NOT an option. Each time you pick you are taking off tiny slivers of nail,causing damage that no topcoat, hand cream or base coat can repair

  2. Try not to use your nails as tools. It’s tempting to use your nail to open up the back of your phone but it’s just not worth damaging your nails for. The more you resist those pickables (price stickers, plastic wrapped DVDs, etc.) the quicker you will notice an improvement in the condition of your nails

  3. Get a good file. The damaged caused by poor filing is irreparable – only solved by ‘the big chop’)

So when Healthy Nails sent me this sleek file for review I was excited to try it out.

First impressions

When I shook the parcel I was a little nervous of the rattle I heard. But on opening it up I was pleased to see the file was far from broken, but instead was safe in it’s very own hard plastic casing. The case itself is a sleek silver tube; perfect for handbags. So now there’s no excuse for biting off torn or chipped nails.

Image

I was given the choice of three colours but asked Andy who contacted me to choose whichever he liked. So on opening was pleased to find a classic, black handled file.

The feel of the file was also surprising. I’ve used a few glass files previously but this one has a much finer grain. So smooth in fact I was doubtful it would work well. Thankfully I needn’t have worried.

Did it do the job?

In a word: yes!

You may have seen on Instagram that I have a major break in my thumb nail. This is usually a warning sign to me that my nails may be getting overly long. It was therefore important to me that the file was able to bring my nail down a few millimeters without any further damage.

I was tentative at first, shaving off one powdery swipe at a time (never the back and forth sawing motion!) but on pressing a little harder was able to take off a good portion of the nail edge without any snagging or loose strands.

Image

Final thoughts

This is possibly the best file I’ve ever used. I didn’t expect to love it so much but found it left my nails smooth and cared for. The website promises ‘you will get just as good a finish to your nail in 10 years’ time’ and if it lasts even half that I’ll be ecstatic.

Thanks again to Healthy Nails for sending me the file. You can check out their website here: www.healthynails.co.uk They not only sell files but offer some excellent tips and advice on nail care generally too.

Image

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on April 23, 2014, in Product Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

