BOOTS Conditioning Nail Polish Remover Pads

Hi guys, happy Friday!

Today I thought I’d share with you a quick review of these own-brand, acetone-free remover pads from Boots. I grabbed this one Friday evening at a train station before heading off to stay with a friend for the weekend.

Image

Confession; I’m a bit of an acetone addict. To save time and money I buy a big budget bottle of no-name acetone that serves as my daily nail polish remover. It isn’t the best thing for my cuticles,skin and nails though because of it’s drying properties.

The primary reason for first buying this was convenience. I wanted a non-messy and quick way of removing my polish on-the-go. I didn’t want to carry acetone around in my weekender with all my clothes, so buying these little pads were a great alternative.

Image

The packaging was surprisingly very difficult to get into. The hard plastic wrap was definitely not ‘nail friendly’ to open (and I didn’t have scissors with me at the time!) and it didn’t even have a perforated strip to pull off – bad design! However, I used them on the train without any problems – they did a neat job of removing the polish and the chemical smell wasn’t very strong.

Image

I figured the best way to test these pads to the full was to try them on red. I find (after glitters) red nail polish is a real pain to remove. Even if you’ve managed to avoid getting any on your skin or cuticles, and you have even used a quality base coat, the staining is still visible.

Image

As you can see these pads managed to remove plenty of red polish – and I used every available millimeter of the pad. The down side however, was they all had that sopping wet feel which seemed to smear the red all over your fingers, leaving you with more areas to use the pads on to clean up. Maybe my technique was wrong but it took five pads to remove the polish from both hands. Is this an acceptable ratio?

The pack of 15 pads cost just £1.50 (and there’s even a 3-for-2 offer on them at the moment in store and on the Boots website). So I’ll let you decide: 50p per manicure, is that a fair price for convenient on-the-go removal?

Do you regularly use remover pads? Are they essential travel companions for you?

 

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on May 2, 2014, in Product Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I simply cannot deal with remover pads. They’re too thin for glitter, and I need approximately 5 million to remove all my layers of polish. When I travel I bring a small nail polish remover bottle filled w my acetone from my big jug, AND I bring a small bottle of nail polish remover filled w nail polish remover from a big jug… I guess I don’t travel too lightly. 😉

    • That’s very organised Nicole – sounds like your a seasoned lacquerhead traveller. I’m a bit paranoid about carrying liquids; 100% guarantee they’d be all over my bag, clothes, phone, etc. by the end of the journey!

      • Now THAT would be a mess! I’ve done full blown manis roadtripping all over so I have a bit of a traveling system down. And sometimes I even bring my stuff camping… Yeah yeah I’m a prissy camper. 😉

Leave a comment

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Craftynail

Nail polish and face paint!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

Lady Lacquer

Welcome To The Watermarble Capital