Scholl Night Mask review

Evening lovelies,

I know some of you will be looking for a distraction from the World Cup football so I thought I’d briefly tell you about a new product I tried and LOVED.

This month’s Glossybox contained, amongst many other summer goodies, a tube of Scholl Velvet Smooth Night Mask. Now I have not mentioned my Glossy boxes previously as this is, and always will be,  a nail-centred blog. However, what I love about this subscription box is you can dip in and out for a month at a time (whenever something featured in the previews takes your fancy). The only downfall, and one I am constantly scuppered by is you can’t tell them what you absolutely don’t want. For me, and my nut allergy, this is a bit of a bummer.

Glossybox

I should also add, for those squeamish about feet that THERE ARE NO PICTURES OF FEET IN THIS REVIEW! I personally don’t mind a pedi pic but I know there are A LOT of feet haters out there.

I loved the look of this box; it was colourful and summery and it was a celebration for 50 years of Superdrug. For some people this was a negative. I saw a lot of people complaining that Glossybox’s original aim was to showcase ‘high-end’ brands. For me the Superdrug box was a winner. Who wants to fall in love with a product they can’t afford or get hold of easily anyway?

Superdrug is one of my preferred high-street beauty stores. It offers all the essentials at a really reasonable price – and that’s not counting all their regular 342 offers.

So the one product I tried the same night I received it was the Night Mask. I did a full at-home pedicure:

  • soak feet in hot, bubbly water
  • trim nails
  • cut cuticles (optional – I actually never do this. 1. my cuticles aren’t very noticeable 2. who’s got time for that?)
  • use a scrub all over the feet (granulated sugar works just as well as expensive scrubs but shh don’t tell anyone)
  • soak again
  • dry off feet on a warm, fluffy towel
  • buff and file nails
  • for stubborn hard skin you can also use a foot file at this point (again it’s optional, some might find it unnecessary)
  • smooth over an intensively moisturising foot cream
  • apply cotton socks while feet are still tacky
  • go to bed (you don’t have to go to bed right away, just leave the socks on overnight)

Another tip here is to do foot treatment and nail painting on two separate evenings. I find that way it helps you concentrate more time and effort on the condition of your feet. Also it means there’s no excess oils lingering on the nail bed that could interfere with polish adhesion.

Scholl Velvet Smooth

So the Scholl Night Mask was lurverly! It had a thick, intensive feel on massaging into the skin that made it feel like it was working to soften the skin right away. The product claims to hydrate for up to 24 hours but I felt the affect days after using – even asking my man days later to ‘feel how soft my feet are’ as I was so impressed with it (and yes, that request was met with the cold, hard stare of indignance).

I’m sure you could skip the socks step but I love to feel my products working hard and the added heat and extra absorption is definitely worth the extra effort.

The 60ml tube costs £7.99, which when you consider how many pedicures you’ll get out of it is a good price for such pleasing results. It’s also the perfect time of year for getting your feet in tip-top condition and sandal ready.

Do you have any pedicure tricks that I missed? Will you be trying Scholl Night Mask?

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on June 12, 2014, in Hints and Tips, Product Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I find your polish (or wraps) last longer when you do the foot mask on one night and polish/application the next day too!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

