Ciate Feather Manicure Kit

 

Evening nail lovers, I hope you’re all enjoying your weekends so far? I’ve been busy with chores today so what better way to unwind after a busy day than try out a new manicure.

A few weeks ago I posted the Ciate Feather manicure kit as my Weekly WANT and for once I actually bought it. The kit was on sale at ASOS and had free shipping so this box of loveliness cost me just £10.50 -bargain!

Ciate Feather kit

I had been wanting to try the feather technique for a while but couldn’t decide what kind of feathers would work best. The great thing about these Ciate kits is they take all the guesswork out of things; with their ‘how-to’ guide and every item you could possibly need all in one place. I have a few other Ciate kits now: Caviar and Chalkboard. I love keeping them in their original boxes because they’re easy to store and keeps everything you need for the manicure in one place.

Feather box contents

So here it is, my very first attempt at the feather manicure. Like many of these creative kits I am sure practice makes perfect and after a little fine tuning this manicure could be looking much sleeker so please bare with me.

Feather overhang

Step one – I painted my nails with two coats of Ivory Queen. I did consider choosing another base colour from my own collection (white maybe?) but for ease I tried out the polish that came in the set.

Step two – paint over the polish with a generous helping of top coat.

Step three – Whilst the top coat is still tacky lay a feather over the top and gently dab into place. This part was a bit of a struggle. You want the coat wet enough to stick the feather but dry enough not to smudge the polish as you smooth the feather down – tricky!

Pink feather hang

Step four – trim around the sides of the nail to neatly fit the feather onto the nail.

Feather fan

Step five – and this step is just my own; dab a little more topcoat under any edges of the feather that may be lifting at this point. I found the denser feather at the nail edge took a little more polish to fully stick down. I also spent a few extra seconds this time holding the edges in place.

Step six – use the buffing block to shave off any smaller feather pieces by running across the nail edge. This part worked perfectly as the harder block buffed away the tiniest feather pieces to create a really smooth finish

Final feathers bright

Step 7 – more copious amounts of topcoat help to seal the feathers down. Just make sure you run the brush the same direction as the feathers; the opposite way to what you usually paint. This is another difficult one to get your head/hands around and I ended up with A LOT of polish over my cuticles and fingers, Clean up most definitely required!

Feather fingers

So here is it, the finished feather manicure. I love all these bright feather colours but especially the green feathers as the smaller green dots were more defined. You get four different feather colours in the box – I can’t help thinking if only it was five there would be a different colour for each nail.

Bright Ciate feathers

Overall

I love the finished effect and I am positive with a bit more practiced I could create a more polished finish in a quicker time. However, it was a bit of a faff – the dry times, the sticking up bits, and the uneven bit were my finger smudged the polish all make it a lot of effort.

Perhaps if I try this again I’ll just use the feather as an accent nail.

Ciate does describe this manicure as ‘long lasing’ though so depending on how many days wear I get out of it the effort may be worth it. I’ll let you know once I’ve had them on longer.

Feather mani

So what do you think? Have you tried the feather manicure technique? Would you be tempted to get the Ciate kit?

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on June 14, 2014, in Nail Art, Product Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I think they look brilliant! I may even purchase the kit, it’s such a unique nail look! I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine blog award! I understand if you don’t wish to take part but, if you do, I have put my Sunshine blog post on my blog (http://nailartoholic.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/sunshine-blog-award/) for more details!
    Thanks, ljmoo123 x

  2. I have feathers…. I have nails… I have always been scared to actually do this technique though. The finished mani looks great on you and definitely worth the effort!! Maybe I’ll give it a go soon, really helpful and honest blog about this trendy technique!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

