Does my Lunula look big in this?

So my lunula are pretty big – I’ve had comments.

 

From my thumbs to my pinkies the light pink moons circle around the bottom of each nail. My thumbs are the largest by far and stretch approximately 1/3 up the nail bed.

 

Is this a problem (you may ask)? I asked, and found my answer on the ‘health’ pages of the internet. Some people have no moons. Some people have little moons. Some people have large moons.

Thumb lunula

Searching the internet produced a number of possible causes ranging from Overactive Thyroid and High Blood Pressure to Calcium Deficiency and Renal Failure!

 

However, rather than drag myself off to the knackers yard just yet there is one very important fact for me to remember – this is nothing new. If my lunula had suddenly become larger, discoloured or uneven I might start to worry but mine have always been big. More to the point so are the moons of all the women in my family. My mum, nan, sisters, aunties all have ample lunula. It’s a genetic trait passed down and NOT signs of a serious medical condition (as the internet would have me believe).

Nail Moons

I personally have no qualms with lunula – large or small it’s all fine by me, but I just wondered what your thoughts are on the matter…

 

Do you have large lunula? Do you ever worry your nails don’t look ‘normal’? Do you find yourself stressing about nail health articles you read online?

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on July 6, 2014, in Hints and Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Haha, love this post : )
    My thumb lunula is big too, but as you said, always been this way : )

    • Thank you lovely. I think it’s easy to worry you’re not ‘normal’ when you see other nail types. Thankfully we’re all different, even down to our lunula x

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

