Essence polish review

Hi there peoples, how is your week going so far? I’ve been feeling sorry for myself lately as it’s been months since my last polish purchase. With the move happening I put myself on a no-buy but on a visit to Wilkinson‘s lately I cracked and snaffled two polishes into my basket.

Essence Colour & Go

I’d heard a lot about Essence’s UK launch and at just £1.60 each I didn’t feel too guilty about my impulse buy! The polishes I choose are: L.O.L and Party Princess.

Essence Old V New

Essence has actually been available in the UK for a long time. I have a wonderful neon green I bought about 6 years ago from a discount store for 99p called Check me out and I was hoping L.O.L would be a replacement for it. As you can see from the swatch below, when I got it home L.O.L. is clearly a lot more pastel-lime to Check me out’s atomic apple. One thing I do love is that the new Essence bottles click when the lid is screwed on correctly – YAY! No more dried up polish. I wish all polish bottles did this.

L.O.L. Coat One

L.O.L. Coat One

L.O.L. Coat Two

L.O.L. Coat Two

Essence L.O.L.

L.O.L. was sadly not my kind of polish. It was very streaky on the first coat. Perhaps this was because I found the brush difficult, my usual three-stroke technique was tricky. For the second coat I soaked the brush in polish and did one thick coat instead. This worked better but still the polish didn’t level out. You might think I’m asking a lot of a budget nail polish but I think formula should be good no matter the polish brand – what good is a colour you love if it paints on uneven?

L.O.L. with flakie topcoat

To make this more even and wearable I added a flakie topcoat

Party Princess did not fair much better. The bottle promises deep pink, glitter-packed, jelly goodness. What is produced on the nail is a weak imitation. There is plenty of glitter and the shift of colours in this is just lovely but if there’s one thing I hate as much as streaky polish, it’s a visible nail line. There’s always the possibility to use this one as more of a glitter topper but this shade of pink did absolutely nothing for my colouring (making my pale hands look flushed). 

Party Princess

Bottle and nail colour comparison

Party Princess Coat One

Party Princess Coat One

Orange, gold, blue, and green fine glitter suspended in a pink jelly base

Orange, gold, blue, and green fine glitter suspended in a pink jelly base

In Essence’s defence I am probably not their target buyer. I am used to high-end polishes that offer good coverage and self-levelling and perhaps the price point here is more suited to teens who will use their hard earned pocket money to buy these. Also the colours I chose were ones that I don’t currently have in my collection – and the reason for that might well be because they aren’t my favourite kind of colours and don’t suit me!

Have you tried the new Essence polishes? Did you have a better experience than I did?

 

 

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on September 2, 2014, in Product Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

