Painting Rainbows

Hello lovelies,

How are we all today? I hope you’re enjoying the last of this warm weather while it lasts because soon we’ll be back to cosying up for nights in. I am not too worried about being confined indoors for the winter as a lot of my favourite activities involve sitting quietly at home; painting my nails, blogging, reading and crafts! It seems like a lot of fellow lacquerheads are crafters too, whether it’s knitting, jewellery making or cake decorating.

For those who do enjoy polishing and do enjoy crafting today’s post might be right up your street, as I’ve tried my hand at a polish painted jewelled necklace.

Primark necklace

The necklace itself was a Primark bargain at just £4. I chose this one as I liked the jewel design (there was plenty to paint on it) and I also thought the light pink would be a good base colour to paint polish over.

I’d seen similar chunky necklaces painted in a rainbow array of colours and thought it’s exactly the effect I’d want in my own hand-painted jewellery. So out came all my brights and neons for a colourful painting bonanza.

Painting a jewelled necklace with nail polish

Rather than using two or three thinner brush strokes (as I would if painting my nails) I opted for a quicker option of thick polish strokes. This does call for a steady hand but thankfully my years of polishing have honed this skill nicely. However if you are worried you’ll wobble you could always start with jewellery with bigger jewels/stones.

Lacquer painted necklace

Starting with one bright colour, then moving on to the next and the next, the rainbow design gradually built up. I did choose to leave the ‘pearls’ polish-free though because I’m a bit of a sucker for pearls (although I much prefer the real ones!)

And here it is, the finished necklace…

Rainbow painted necklace

If anyone would like to have a go at painting this necklace themselves just let me know via the Contact Me section of the About Me page and I’ll post it on to you (UK only sorry). I would love to see everyone’s artistic interpretations!

Do you have any craft projects on the go at the moment? Do any of them involve nail polish? Is polish painted jewellery something you’d like to try?

About lushnails

I'm a qualified Nail Technician based in Liverpool. This blog is my way of sharing some of my favourite techniques, products and nail designs. I love all things rainbow-coloured and spangly! Hope you enjoy reading/viewing :)

Posted on September 13, 2014, in Hints and Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great idea and it looks very lovely!

  2. Thanks Cherry! I just saw your new blog design – looking very swish! x

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Add A Little Polish

anything nail polish right at your finger tips

Lisionok2004's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hannahthenailtrail.wordpress.com/

Follow the trail of all things nails, brought to you by Hannah

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

Fairy Blog Mother

Train, explain and create awareness about blogs

The Nail Polish Project

An evolving obsession with nail polish and nail art

2thelastdrop

Beauty blog sharing inspiration, tips and tools! Special love to Nails, Makeup and Natural Hair!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Polish in Paris

blog of a nail polish addict ;)

Polish2Times

.........polish, polish

Neglelakkmani

For alle som er glad i fin neglelakk

LacquerCareFactor

Where no nail goes naked!

This Creative Journey

A Blog by Juli Williams

The Nail Art Show

Just a 19 year old girl that loves painting her nails

Polished Tickles and Beauty

Nail Art Addicts Anonymous... Yeah Right

